Skin Savers

P1180244

Having acne-prone skin can be frustrating; sometimes it seems like you’ll never find the perfect product for your skin. I’ve been bouncing around between skincare regimens for ages: trying to find a face wash that’s hydrating but doesn’t leave a film on the skin, spot treatments that don’t dehydrate my already dry skin, sunscreen that doesn’t clog the pores… But lately, I’ve been coming back to the same four products, and I have to say, they are pretty amazing.

The Barefoot Venus Gingerly Green Tea facial cleanser is my favourite face wash ever. The product is creamy and silky, and it works up to a beautiful lather. Barefoot Venus also prides itself on being paraben-free and all-natural. Natural ingredients seems to be a key-factor in my skincare success. Plus, this cleanser has a light and spicy aroma which makes washing my face even more enjoyable.

Viva Amaze Exfoliating Gel is definitely more of a splurge item (coming in at $48.95 for 30ml), but it lives up to it’s name. I’ve never had much success with exfoliators; my skin is super sensitive, and the synthetic beads most companies use as the exfoliant often cause irritation and break outs on my skin. But the Amaze gel, with an impressive list of natural and organic ingredients, works perfectly with my delicate skin. I only use it once to twice a week to make sure I’m clearing away dead skin cell build up and really clearing out my pores.

The Neutrogena Rapid Clear Stubborn Acne Daily Leave-On Mask is, admittedly, a rather new addition to my skincare regime. But I’m thoroughly impressed by the results I’ve had! The mask, which claims to reduce the number and intensity of break outs, can be worn all over the face and during the day (although of course with a sunscreen to protect the skin). So far it has noticeably reduced my skin texture, break outs, and even skin redness. I started by applying a thin layer every night at the end of my skincare routine (since the brand specifically notes that fair-skinned people should only apply once a day, and I am a pretty pale person). However, I’ve found that I can even apply a layer in the morning, just as long as I follow it up with a lightweight moisturizer and a hefty layer of sunscreen.

Speaking of sunscreen, I’ve been loving the Neutrogena Clear Face SPF 30. This lightweight and oil-free sunscreen has a clinically-tested formula claiming to protect against UVA and UVB rays while keeping your pores from getting clogged. As I’ve mentioned before, my skin is very sensitive and prone to breaking out when I try new products. When I tried this sunscreen, though, my skin continued as normal; I had absolutely no reaction. Needless to say, this has been my staple for summer.

 

2 thoughts on “Skin Savers

Leave a Reply

