My Everyday Makeup

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 7.59.23 PM

Alright, so after a huge hiatus on the blogging front, I’m back (!) with a video I filmed pre-blonde-and-pixie. Even though the hair has changed, this routine hasn’t, so I thought I’d share it with you anyway.

Products Used

By now you guys must know the drill: I mix my moisturizer and my foundation to provide a lightweight coverage and keep my skin hydrated. Following that, I threw on some of this lip balm, which I have to say is one of the best I’ve ever tried (and I should know, I’m a bit of a lip balm hoarder collector). Then I went in with my concealer for some spot treatment and I blended in that bit of foundation on my nose that I somehow missed.

Then I did my brows, which I’m not going to explain because really, I do them the same every time. Then I lightly swept a pretty rose quartz shimmer shadow onto my lids, followed by a bit of bronzer in the crease for some extra dimension.

And now onto the fun part: the winged liner! I’ve always struggled with winged liner– mainly getting them to look about the same on each eye. But, I’ve finally figured out a way to get them (more or less) even, so I’ll do my best to explain. *Warning:Β don’t get distracted by my twitchy eye while watching.Β I start off by lining my upper lash line, using the side of the felt tip and making short strokes rather than trying for one continuous line. Then, using the side of the pen again, I put the tip of the liner where I want my wing to end and gently pull the pen in towards my outer corner. I then close my eye and connect the wing to the rest of the line. (And of course I don’t realize that I’ve added a dot until I’m editing and it’s too late to fix it!) I find this wing technique really works for my eye shape, and I find that I almost always get (almost) even wings on each side. Of course, I followed this up with generous lashings of my favourite mascara.

To finish off the face, I did a bit of contouring (which for some reason always shows up super dark in the videos, even when it’s not in real life) and topped it off with some blush.

As a final touch, I put on some of this lipstick, which I reviewed here. I think it’s such a great “my-lips-but-better” shade, and it’s easy to apply on-the-go.

Hope you enjoyed this tutorial! I’m planning some holiday and New Year looks for you, so keep your eyes peeled!

Leave a Reply

