Four Chic Looks for Exams

4foruni

Before I started university, I promised myself that I would dress the same as I always have: a mix of skirts, dresses, and pants (mainly jeans), always accessorized to a T, heels worn whenever I could get away with them. But after a few months of being a full-time student, I can say for sure that I’m no longer dressing the same. The ultimate goal: comfort, especially around exam time. However, comfort does not mean foregoing chic for sweatpants (oh, how it pains me to even type the word!). And so, I bring you four easy, comfortable, and stylish outfits for any university student.

A few things I’ve learned:

  1. Always layer. You never know which classes are going to be warm, or freezing. Plus, at this time of year the weather is fairly unpredictable, and even changes from morning to afternoon to evening. I haven’t put any heavy coats with these outfits, but I always always wear one to school.
  2. Wear comfortable shoes, especially on long days. I wear flats almost every day, or heels that don’t surpass two inches. Honestly, sore feet will distract you throughout class.
  3. Knitwear, especially scarves, are your best friend. Super cold? Use it as a blanket. Need to nap between classes? Use it as a pillow. (Though I have not tried this… but I have seen others doing so.)
  4. Start with a template: take, for example, the plaid trousers following. Pick three tops that go with it, and put them all near each other in your closet, so that when you’re in a rush in the morning you can throw something together that you know looks good.

Outfit One: Vintage Inspired

P1160944

P1160952

P1160950

P1160954

Loose trousers like these are comfortable but still make you look super put-together. Plus, the print is totally scholarly, harkening images of Ali MacGraw in Love Story (though admittedly her plaid was worn in the way of a skirt).

Outfit Details

Scarf (worn as head wrap): Vintage // Sweater: Gap (similar) // Trousers: Socialite // Loafers: Abound


Outfit Two: Airy and Warm

P1160906

P1160920

P1160914

P1160910

I love the open back on this sweater! I think it adds a little extra oomph to your outfit.

Outfit Details

Sweater: Vero Moda // Scarf: Knit Ewe Up // Dress: American Apparel // Boots: Sam&Libby


Outfit Three: Mix + Match

P1160936

P1160929

P1160923

P1160933

Now, you may be thinking: She says “no sweatpants” but agrees to leggings? That’s a bit contradictory. And yes, maybe it is. But in my opinion leggings look a bit more polished, so I’m letting this one slide…

Outfit Details

Hat: Knit Ewe Up // Denim Jacket: Thrifted // T-shirt: Old Navy // Leggings: Ivivva // Socks: H&M // Boots: Sam&Libby


Outfit Four: All About that Comfort

P1160960

P1160968

P1160959

P1160964

There’s nothing better than the ease of a T-shirt. I love this one because the fabric is a bit thicker and because it’s got three-quarter length sleeves. Usually I find that sleeves are too long on my petite frame, and I’m always pushing them up. But this is perfect.

Outfit Details

Snood: Knit Ewe Up // T-shirt: Ralph Lauren Denim+Supply (similar) // Pants: One Clothing (similar) // Shoes: Vince Camuto

Leave a Reply

