Classic Red Lip

Screen Shot 2015-10-17 at 5.26.17 PM

Hello all! I’ve made another video for you guys to watch! It’s been so long since I’ve done this that I kind of forgot how to upload/etc and ended up messing up a few times… but hey, at least it works now!

A red lip is a classic addition to any makeup look. Today I decided to take it in a 50’s film star direction. Obviously, Marilyn Monroe was a huge inspiration for this look. Hope you all enjoy! Also, as a side note, I tried doing a classic Hollywood hair ‘do, but of course it turned out more 80’s popstar, so I pulled it all back…

So, to start off, I applied a mix of moisturizer and foundation to my face and neck. In the drier months I like to add these together, because I find that the foundation goes on a bit cakey otherwise. Next, I’m letting that settle onto my skin and filling in my brows. Lately I’ve been using both powder and a pencil to fill in my brows. Here I’m using this NYX shadow in Tryst followed by the Anastasia Brow Wiz. Following that, I’m covering up any extra bits of redness with my Smashbox concealer and a Real Techniques brush.

Onto the eyes… which is by far my favourite part of the look. I started off by defining my crease with my Lancôme bronzer, then taking that same NYX shadow for a little extra depth. Then I swept a pretty pink shimmer from Joe Fresh all across the lid, and a shimmery white along the brow bone. I tight lined my eyes mostly off camera, because when I do it I almost always poke my eye, and then tears are involved… it’s just not pretty. So I spared you that horror and just tight lined off camera. Next, I’m applying some clear tape onto the back of my hand, to take away some of the stickiness, before sticking them at diagonals on the outside corners of my eyes. This trick to get super sharp, precise liquid wings is by far one of the best tricks I’ve learned. I find that my winged liner is much more even looks (almost) professional with the guideline set up by the tape. Go about creating your wing with liquid liner (I’m using this one) to your taste, then slowly peel away the tape. Voilà! A perfect wing! Next I’m applying generous coats of the Too Faced Better than Sex mascara. False lashes would look stunning with this makeup, but unfortunately I don’t have any at the moment.

For the rest of the face, I took some of that NYX shadow on the very tip of a Smashbox blush brush to contour. (Yes, making the duck face really does help find your cheekbones!) I really like using this shadow as my contour shade, because it’s not overly warm but doesn’t look grey on the skin. Be sure to blend well so you don’t just have a stripe of brown on either cheek! Then I took this really pretty pink shade from Joe Fresh just on the apples of my cheeks for a pop of colour.

Then I went back to the eyes to add some Monroe-drama. Taking a black shadow on a small angled Real Techniques brush, I drew small wings on the bottom lash line, sort of parallel to the wings on my top lash line. Tip: make sure you have cotton buds on hand to fix any mistakes. Then I added some mascara on my bottom lashes to tie everything together.

To finish off, I outlined and filled my lips with this gorgeous red lip liner. Unfortunately all the text on the pencil has rubbed off, but I’ll link some similar ones here (here, here). Then, with my beloved Rimmel Kate Moss Matte lipstick in the shade 107, I filled my lips with red straight from the tube. To make my lips seem a little plumper, I took a bit of that shimmery pink shadows from my eyes and patted it on the middle of my lower lip and along my cupid’s bow to highlight.

 

So tell me, did you like this makeup look? Do you have any requests? Shout them out in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Classic Red Lip

Leave a Reply

