When it’s One of *Those* Days

 

I’m sure everyone has had days when a great cloud descends upon one’s mood and doesn’t budge. I hate feeling down-in-the-dumps, so I’ve come up with a few easy things that I doΒ to lift my spirits.

IMG_0162

Listen to or play some music: Personally, I always find that sitting down at the piano and playing some tunes helps me feel happier. The focus it requires distracts me from my less-than-lovely thoughts, and the satisfaction of achieving a tricky technical move is a mega mood-booster. Don’t know how to play an instrument? Find or create an uplifting playlist and blast it loud! My suggestion: Coeur de Pirate.

P1110479

Bake: Not only do cookies, cupcakes, and other sweets taste amazing (super surprising, I know), they also smell great and infuse your house with warm, comforting scents. Being busy will distract your mind and of course the sweets will give you a happy sugar rush. My suggestion: raspberry white chocolate cupcakes — de-lish!

P1140476

Flowers: Gather some natural blooms or go buy a posy. While your goodies are baking, take the time to arrange them in a neat, pleasing way (and don’t forget to take breaks for intense dance moments!) Catching a glimpse of the bright colours as you go about your day is sure to bring a smile to your face.

IMG_0164

A book and a drink: Grab an engrossing mystery or light romance or whatever it is that tickles your fancy that day and a nice mug of tea or coffee. If the cookies/muffins/etc are done, take a plate of those, too.Β My suggestions: Water for Elephants (although I’m pretty sure everyone’s read it by now), The Elegance of the Hedgehog, and A Life in Stitches. (Also, side note: picked up this adorable fox mug at the Etsy Made In Canada market over the weekend from a shop called Nature’s My Friend. Go check out the rest of her merch!)

IMG_0163

Bubble bath: Although I am personally not a huge bath person, I know that many people find them extremely relaxing. And with so many options for “bath enhancement” — bath bombs, melts, oils, and such — who wouldn’t want to soak in the suds? Bring a magazine, light some candles (in a safe place), and hook up some bluetooth speakers for an awesome relaxation moment. My suggestion: any LUSH bath product and the latest VOGUE magazines!

P1160541

Get crafty: Knit, draw, paint, scrapbook, or anything else that will make you happy. Don’t do any of these? Pick one and start learning! The satisfaction of triumphing over learning a new skill is sure to bring a smile to your face (and gives you all the bragging rights).

 

What do you do to boost your mood on “bleh” days? I’d love to know; share your ideas in the comments!


 

In other news, we finally have a blog post! I meant to post this way earlier, but was having some technical difficulties… Hopefully this week we will be back to our regular scheduled posting!

One thought on “When it’s One of *Those* Days

Leave a Reply

