Bold Lips for Summer

close

One thing I will always love about summer is that bold, bright lipstick never feels out of place. You may recognize this lipstick from the review and swatches post in May. I absolutely adore this bright orange colour! That said, not everyone is as eager to try such a bright lip, as the colour can be a bit daunting. I made a video to guide new bold lip lovers with their lipstick adventures! Read on for the full explanation.

Step 1: Normally I don’t wear foundation during the summer, since it basically melts off the skin by the end of the day anyway. However, when I wear a bold lip, and especially a warm-toned lipstick, I like to have a little bit more coverage so the redness in my skin doesn’t compete with the lips. Here I’ve taken the Sephora Collection 10 Hour Wear foundation in the shade 10 light ivory and just blended it out with a Real Techniques Duo Fiber face brush. Next, I go in with my Smashbox High Definition concealer in fair just to cover up those dark circles under my eyes and the extra redness around my nose.

Step 2: As always, I need to add a bit of colour to my cheeks so that people don’t stop me and ask me if I “…need to lie down because [I] look very pale.” Today I decided to start off by using a Smashbox blush brush (discontinued, so here’s a different one) to contour the tiniest bit with my Lancôme Tropiques Minérale bronzer (which also seems to be discontinued, but here’s a similar one), since my arms and chest actually have a bit of a tan. Next, I’m going in with NARS Orgasm on a Real Techniques cheek brush and applying in that same check-mark shape as in my last video. I love the subtle gold shimmer in this blush, and I think it really complements the orange lip we’ll be adding later.

Step 3: We’re moving on to eyes, and I realize now that you can’t really tell what I’m doing — which is tight lining, by the way, with NARS Larger than Life eyeliner — because my bangs hide everything (and, yes, also because my head is tilted down so that I can actually do this one-handed). After that, I decided I should probably move in closer to the camera so you guys could actually see what I was doing. I’m lining my lid with Kat Von D’s Tattoo liner, which you may remember from this post. Lastly, I’m adding a few coats of Tarte Lights, Camera, Flashes, which was mentioned in this post. And my goodness these bangs just keep getting in the way!

Step 4: Finally, the part we’ve all been waiting for, the orange lip! One of my favourite lipsticks ever, the Body Shop Color Crush in Coral Cutie offers buildable colour and a light sheen that makes lips seem a little plumper. I’m applying it right from the bullet, since the formulation is fairly sheer, although if you’d prefer to be super precise you can totally take it on a lip brush.

 

 

I hope you all enjoyed this summer makeup tutorial! Please leave your tutorial requests in the comments.

Leave a Reply

