Everyday Summer Makeup

edmI had a request on my last blog post for an everyday makeup tutorial. So I made one, even though it is frankly very boring and simple. I like wearing a “no-makeup” makeup look for everyday, especially in the summer when it feels like my skin is melting from the heat. Watch the video below and read on for the full explanation.

Step one: I always wash my face in the morning! Right now I’m using this green tea cleanser from Barefoot Venus. The gentle lather makes it so nice to use. Plus, I love the spicy but not overwhelming scent of ginger and cinnamon.

Step two: One of the only skincare products I use on my face is moisturizer. If I skip this step, my skin panics and creates way too much oil… don’t ask me how that works, it’s just what happens.

Step three: Summer means sun, which means sun burn if we’re not careful. I always put on sunscreen. This one from Neutrogena doesn’t make me break out and is super light weight. Sunscreen also acts as a primer, providing a smooth base for the rest of your makeup.

Step four: Conceal where necessary. I usually get redness around my nose and on my chin, so I usually just put a dab of concealer there. As you can see, today a little “friend” decided to show up… so I covered him up too. I’m using Smashbox High Definition concealer in fair and the Real Techniques Deluxe Crease brush.

Step five: I never go anywhere without filling in my eyebrows! As usual, I’m using the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz in the colour medium brown. Lately I’ve been trying for a straighter brow look, rather than an intense, arched one. Read my review for this brow product here.

Step six: Lip balm! In this weather, my lips get so dry and cracked… no matter how hydrated I am, they’re always like sandpaper. The Rosebud Perfum Company’s Minted Rose lip balm is amazing for hydrating and softening sensitive lips. Plus, this product is cruelty and gluten free! Some days I layer on a thin swipe of lipstick, usually if I’m headed downtown with some friends.

Step seven: I always do a little something to my eyes. Right now I’m trying the Lash Stash To Go from Sephora, so I’ve been alternating which mascara I use every day. Right now I’m torn between Josie Maran’s Black Oil (used here) and the Lights, Camera, Flashes from Tarte. Have you tried any of these, and if so, what is your favourite?

Step eight: As I’ve mentioned before (here), I look dead if I’m not wearing a bit of blusher. This one is fairly inexpensive and gives a super-natural flush to the cheeks. Apparently, this Mineral Wear blush from Physicians Formula is hypoallergenic and talc-free. Wondering what the heck I’m doing with my hands? Yeah, at the time it seemed like a good way to indicate that I’m applying the blush in a check-mark shape on my cheeks. (As a side note, in the video it doesn’t really look like I’m wearing anything, but trust me, there was blush! My camera just wasn’t picking up on all the colours very well.)

That’s it! I do variations of this every day; some days I wear a bit of lipstick, some days I dust on a bit of bronzer, sometimes I use a punchier blush… but most days it’s this.

Did you enjoy the video? Leave me a comment if you want more tutorials like this, or if you have a request for a tutorial of a makeup look from past blog posts!


Products used:

Face wash c/o Barefoot Venus // Moisturizer: Neutrogena // Sunscreen: Neutrogena // Concealer: Smashbox // Brows: Anastasia Beverly Hills //Mascara: Josie Maran // Lips: Rosebud Perfume Co. (mint rose is out of stock at the moment) // Blush: Physicians Formula // Brushes: Real Techniques // Nails: Fifth Avenue by Essie // Earrings c/o Oh! The Post!

 

8 thoughts on “Everyday Summer Makeup

Leave a Reply

