Sweet and Simple

P1140095

P1140121

P1140115

P1140096

P1140100

P1140108

P1140105

P1140101

P1140119

P1140110

P1140106

To me, spring connotes delicacy and soft palettes of neutrals and pastels, perhaps because of the sweet flowers that are now blooming all over the city. During these spring months I find myself drawn to soft, airy fabrics and quieter shades. A few of my new favourite items quench my cravings for sweet and dainty outfits.

First off, this gorgeous top I found whilst flipping through my mum’s closet. I love looking through the clothes she’s collected over the years; she loves vintage clothing even more than I do. I have now officially adopted this 20+ year old collarless shirt. I love the loose, airy quality of the fabric, and the embroidery! So gorgeous and perfect for spring.

My second spring obsession, though I know for a fact that it will always be a favourite, is this gorgeous vintage cameo necklace. The pendent was given to me as a gift, and finally it has a chain! I got this custom-length chain from a local jeweller, L & O Jewellers. The men who work there are masters in the jewelry department. In fact, I’m having a few pairs of vintage earrings, which were clip-ons, made into normal studs. Although I’m sad to be changing the original design, I am excited to be able to wear them without pain.

Mules are huge for spring, and these ones from Calvin Klein are absolutely gorgeous. I think they are a perfect “nude”, and the shape of the toe box is especially flattering. Plus, the soft buttery leather is a dream to slip on!

On a different note, I got my hair lightened and looking more like my natural colour for the upcoming spring and summer months. I thought it would be a nice, subtle change from the darker shade I’ve worn all winter. I’ve never  really been drawn to “streaked” hair, but now that I’ve tried it I love it. The mix of light and dark shades are fairly natural, but offer more movement and dimension to my hair.

So tell me, what style do you gravitate towards during spring? Light and airy like me, or more bold and bright, or something in between? I’d love to hear about your style in the comments!


Outfit Details

Top: InWear, old, similar // Jeans: H&M // Shoes: Calvin Klein // Necklace: Vintage, similar 

6 thoughts on “Sweet and Simple

Leave a Reply

