The Liebster Award

liebsteraward_3lilapples1I don’t normally partake in questionnaires like this, but I think that this one deserves an answer. After all, it’s a way for new bloggers to share a bit about themselves and gain more views and, hopefully, followers while also making friends in the blogging world. I was nominated by Kylie at Novelleme, who is a very talented writer. My answers to her eleven questions follow.

 

  1. How did your blog come to be? I’ve always dreamed of being a fashion blogger. Well, maybe not always, but for a really really long time. I started actively following blogs a few years ago, and that really inspired me to get a move on and start my own. The thought behind it was: “Okay, I’m a pretty decent writer. Everybody compliments me on my style, so I can use that as my basis. Plus, I do want to go into fashion later on…”
  2. Are you a coffee or tea person? I’m a both person! It kind of depends on my mood, what kind of food I might have with it, who I’m with, what I’m working on at the moment…
  3. If you could choose a super power, what would it be? I think, if I had to choose, that I would choose invisibility or time travel (and not the Time Traveler’s Wife kind)… or perhaps the ability to pause time, which sounds like it would be really useful during super-busy weeks.
  4. What is your favourite book? This one’s really tough. Normally I shy away from answering these questions because I read so many books and I love so many, but today I’m going to try to narrow it down for you. I think my top 3 books would be Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, and basically anything by Maeve Binchy. (Okay, so I cheated a little bit there…)
  5. Who is your favourite fictional character and why? I’m not sure if I have one favourite character; rather, I think I admire characters who are written truthfully. By this, I mean they are flawed and they make mistakes, but they learn from them. I also love characters who have strong values and stick to them, as well as characters who go after what they want. I think this is because those are characteristics that I admire in real people.P1120979
  6. What is your dream career? I would love to go into editing and publishing! More specifically, my dream is to work at fashion magazines such as Elle and Vogue.
  7. What three things would you have with you on a deserted island? I’d have to be practical about this and say a tent, clean drinking water or one of those water pump things and plenty of water purification tablets, and a guide to edible plants/fruits/nuts/etc.
  8. Do you have a nickname? My friends and family usually call me Em or Emy/Emmy.
  9. What is a unique talent that you have? To be perfectly honest, I don’t have any unique talents. I do a lot of different things, including knitting (see my products here), sewing, writing, and playing the piano. And while I am talented in these areas, none of these are unique to me.
  10. What is one key thing you want to achieve in 2015? A key goal for 2015 is getting a higher readership on my blog and making this blog the best it can be.
  11. What person (famous or otherwise) do you most admire? I have trouble answering this question, in much the same way as the fictional character question, because I admire different things about different people. I admire women who run their own businesses, I admire celebrities like Emma Watson who speak out about issues in today’s society, and I admire people who treat everybody with respect and empathy.

P113063611 Random Facts about Me

  1. Both of my pinkies are bent inwards at extreme angles. And before you ask, no, I did not break them. This is just the way they are.
  2. I’m not scared of (big) heights, but I’m petrified of small ones. I can go on a ferris wheel no problem, but standing on a chair? No way.
  3. I set up my own business in fall 2014. I love to knit, and so I turned that passion into something. I now sell my knitwear here.
  4. I once read 30 novels in 2 months.
  5. I am a huge Downton Abbey fan!
  6. I get really queasy at the merest mention of blood.
  7. My hair is currently still growing out from my last pixie cut.
  8. I have been blonde, redheaded, and brunette, and now I can’t choose what hair colour is the best!
  9. I love novels by Irish writers! My first introduction was Cecelia Ahern and P.S. I Love You; now I can’t get enough of Maeve Binchy and Patrick Taylor. If anybody has other Irish suggestions, comment below!
  10. I have a horrible memory for important things, like appointments or blog ideas, so I try to always P1110384have either my phone or a notebook and pen nearby so I can write things down.
  11. I have a 3 year old German shepherd whom I completely adore!

My 11 Questions for Bloggers:

  1. What is the best book you’ve read lately?
  2. Do you have a hobby?
  3. What is your biggest achievement so far?
  4. When you need to binge watch TV shows, what do you choose?
  5. What is your biggest fear?
  6. Are you a morning person, or a night owl?
  7. What is your favourite thing about yourself?
  8. Instagram or Twitter? Why?
  9. Can you keep plants alive for longer than a month? Or do you just end up killing them no matter what you try?
  10. Do you like to travel? Where have you traveled, or where do you want to travel?
  11. Do you have pets?

Now, I’m so new to the blogging world that I haven’t really met other new bloggers. So, I’m nominating all bloggers who have 200 followers or less! Spread the word!

Leave a Reply

