Beauty for the Weekend Traveler

P1130424

When traveling, I always have to remind myself to pack light. Otherwise, I end up having trouble zipping my suitcase shut. For those of you out there who are exactly like me when it comes to packing, I have made a quick weekend travel guide. Plus, this gives me a chance to show off my cute makeup bag from Hilary Radley.

 

Skincare: I don’t know about anyone else, but the only skincare product I really need is a light-weight moisturizer. And this one from Neutrogena is the perfect option. Light, silky, and quickly absorbed, this moisturizerย leaves skin feeling nourished without giving you that slick, oily shine.

Hair: Trying to pack light means finding products that offer more-in-one styling. This is the KMS California Hair Play: texturiser, style-holder, a little bit of shine… what more can your weekend hair want?

Hand cream: Now, this may be a personal additive, but a hand cream such as the Barefoot Venus Instant Hand Repair is a must-have on any trip. Since I have food allergies, I constantly need to wash my hands; this leaves them dry and cracked. Hand cream, therefore, is a necessity in my travel bag.

Lipsticks: A girl needs her lipstick, right? My tip is pack two that go with everything: a red and a nude-y pink. This red from Rimmel London is the perfect shade for everything. Now, I’m cheating a little here, because this lipstick from Bite Beauty is double ended. That’s right, two lipsticks in one (eee!). Stay tuned, because an in-depth review of this product is coming soon!

Concealer: Who wants to carry a huge bottle of foundation along for a weekend trip? It’s heavy, takes up lots of space… I’m always worried that the cap will fall off in my makeup bag. The solution is a medium-weight concealer. This one from Smashbox is creamy and easily blendable. Perfect for covering any redness or unexpected spots.

Eye Makeup: Mascara is, of course, the best way to wake up tired eyes and add a little bit of glamour. The Maybelline Lash Stiletto mascara lengthens lashes like nobody’s business. Now, in my opinion, packing eyeshadows along for a weekend getaway can just result in a messy makeup bag. So, I propose packing an eyeliner (or two) that can be blended out to create a smoky look for an evening out. My favourite for the job? Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Pencil.

Blush: This, for me, is a daily essential, because without it I look like I’ve come back from the dead. ‘Nuff said.

Perfume: The perfect way to pack scent with you is in the form of either rollerball or a small spritz bottle like this one. This Barefoot Venus body spray can fit in a purse pocket, clutch, or makeup bag. Plus, the essential oils in this body spritz help lock in moisture so skin feels soft all day long. For more about Barefoot Venus, see this post.

Halo: As I mentioned in Monday’s post, I get migraines frequently. I can’t go anywhere without the Saje Peppermint Halo. It is a lifesaver. This little rollerball is not only easy to carry at all times, but the essential oils smell amazing, too.

Last but not least, the utmost travel essential: sunglasses! For sunny days, these babies are lifesavers. On cloudy days, they make you look sophisticated and chic. So a win-win either way.

Good luck packing to all you over-packers and bon voyage! Look for more Vancouver-based posts in the coming week!

One thought on “Beauty for the Weekend Traveler

Leave a Reply

