The Best of the Blacks

P1130034 Black eyeliner: a beauty staple, found in almost every girl’s makeup bag. I own quite a few different ones, actually, because a friend bought me a gift set from Sephora for my birthday, and after trying them all I have made my decision on which I love, which I like, and which I’m not crazy about.

P1130030 The Indulgence | You may have noticed that my Urban Decay 24/7 pencil is virtually unused. You are correct. This one is my absolute favourite, and I can’t bear to think of using it all up! Silly, I know, because using it up means I get to buy a full sized one… However, from using the adjoined version in Rockstar, I know that this will be one that will always be found in my makeup kit. The formula is creamy and smooth and glides on beautifully. I love that the cap is transparent, since I can glance at it and know if it needs to be sharpened or not. P1130027 The Perfect Tight-liner | The NARS Larger Than Life eyeliner is one of my favourite pencils. It is the perfect pencil to use as a tight-line, since it stays on all day. This I can attest to, since it doesn’t always want to come off with the rest of my makeup! I love the way it looks as a regular liner too, and I find I can get a fairly thin line. The fact that it is retractable makes it easy to travel with, as no sharpener is required, and the formula is super silky. I love the sleek, stylish packaging as well. P1130029 The Lovely Liquid | Usually, I can’t get a straight, even line (not to mention a wing) with liquid liner if my life depended on it. But the elongated, tapered tip of this Kat Von D Tattoo Liner allows for professional application every time. Okay, I exaggerate. But this liquid liner is the easiest to use that I have ever tried, and my liner application looks gorgeous. And boy, does this stuff last. I’m one of those people who always forgets they’ve done a cat-eye, and will wipe at the outside corner of my eye at some time during the day. But every time, I’m amazed, because this liner does not smudge or streak. The cap is springy, which I’ve heard keeps it from drying out as quickly as other brands; the rest of the packaging is just as cool, with a beautiful rose outline adorning its side. P1130039 The Everyday Multitasker | The Sephora 12 Hour Eye Contour is the perfect pencil for someone who does a bit of everything. It’s great for simply lining the eye, but also does the job as a tight-liner and can be convinced to make a small, albeit thick, wing. Love the creamy texture of this liner, which makes it easy to smoke out for a more sultry look. The one annoying part? The pencil doesn’t fit in my sharpener… P1130028 The Love-It-or-Leave-It | Personally, this Marc Jacobs Highliner Gel Crayon just didn’t work for me. I found that the product felt too cakey and it did not draw smoothly. I tried tight-lining with it and the colour leaked out to the corners of my eyes. I will give it this: the formula is completely smudge-proof and the mirrored packaging is absolutely mesmerizing.

click on the pictures for links to the brand’s site, or click the links within the text to go to Sephora

3 thoughts on “The Best of the Blacks

Leave a Reply

