On the Classic White Shirt

P1120985 P1120993

P1130020 P1120989 P1120992 Throughout my meanderings around the captivating and distracting world of Pinterest, I have come to the conclusion that everyone needs to own these three versatile staples: a great coat, a pair of black pants or black jeans, and a white shirt. I mean, practically all the blogs I follow feature, at some point or other, a beautiful snowy button-down. And, if that’s not proof enough, look to style icons such as Audrey Hepburn: the queen of white shirts.

I’ve always loved the crisp, clean look of the classic white button-down. I love that it can be worn for any occasion: as a business staple, as a weekend-wear, as a layering piece… But I found it difficult to find one that fit just the way I wanted. They were too fitted, or too tight in the arms but too loose in other areas, or too long… you get the picture.

This Joe Fresh shirt has just enough slouch and looseness that it looks chic worn loose, tucked, or half-tucked. Plus, it’s long enough to peek out from beneath a hip-length sweater. I also love that the fabric is slightly transparent; it offers more of a worn-in look. This shirt is the perfect casual button-down.


Outfit Details

Coat: Topshop // Shirt: Joe Fresh (similar here) // Jeans: Old Navy // Shoes: Expressions // Chevron Necklace: Shop for Jayu

Leave a Reply

